Fiesta Bowl Basketball Classic


The Tucson Fiesta Bowl Basketball Classic remains one of Tucson’s most popular Fiesta Bowl activities.  The first Classic was held in 1974 and featured a unique “double” doubleheader format.  Two of the top collegiate men’s basketball teams were featured in this event annually, with Arizona State hosting the teams in Tempe one night and the University of Arizona playing host in Tucson the following evening with a swap of opponents.  In 1984, the current version of the Classic was born when the format was modified to feature strictly the University of Arizona men’s basketball program and three other top-tier collegiate men’s teams in a round-robin tournament at the McKale Center in Tucson. In 2006, the format was changed again to feature the University of Arizona and one other well-respected collegiate program.

Previous Winners

Year Schools Competing Winner
1985 Boston College, Princeton, Wisconsin, Arizona Arizona
1986 North Carolina-Charlotte, St. Bonaventure, Texas Tech, Arizona Arizona
1987 Duke, Florida, Michigan State, Arizona Arizona
1988 Northwestern, Pittsburgh, Loyola, Arizona Arizona
1989 Purdue, Wake Forest, Penn State, Arizona Arizona
1990 Pepperdine, Temple, Iowa State, Arizona Arizona
1991 Rutgers, Maryland, Evansville, Arizona Arizona
1992 Delaware State College, La Salle, West Virginia, Arizona Arizona
1993 Auburn, Fordham, Michigan, Arizona Arizona
1994 Texas Tech, Penn State, Richmond, Arizona Arizona
1995 Pacific, Rutgers, Texas A & M, Arizona Arizona
1996 Pacific, Rutgers, Texas A & M, Arizona Arizona
1997 Florida, Pennsylvania, Robert Morris, Arizona Arizona
1998 Davidson, James Madison, Kansas State, Arizona Arizona
1999 Penn State, Florida International, Holy Cross, Arizona Arizona
2000 Alabama, Delaware, North Carolina-Wilmington, Arizona Arizona
2001 Butler, Louisiana-Lafayette, Mississippi State*, Arizona Mississippi State
2002 Pepperdine, Valparaiso, West Virginia, Arizona Arizona
2003 Florida State, Davidson, Boston University, Arizona Arizona
2004 Louisiana-Lafayette, Liberty University, Valparaiso, Arizona Arizona
2005 Butler, Eastern Washington, Richmond, Arizona Arizona
2006 Sam Houston State, Central Florida, Western Kentucky, Arizona Arizona
2007 San Diego State, Arizona Arizona
2008 Kansas, Arizona Arizona
2009 BYU, Arizona BYU
2010 Northern Arizona, Arizona Arizona
2011 Clemson, Arizona Arizona
2012 Florida, Arizona Arizona
2013 Long Beach State, Arizona