Aerospace Challenge History

Honeywell Fiesta Bowl Aerospace Challenge

The Honeywell Fiesta Bowl Aerospace Challenge presented by American Airlines was conceived in the summer of 1999. Honeywell joined the team shortly after and with the help of some of their top engineers the program was put into motion. That same year the newly established Challenger Space Science Center joined the team as educational advisors and the host facility of the event. The partnership of the Challenger Space Center Arizona has allowed the program to grow to more than 1,000 participants each year. The relationships forged by the Challenger Space Center Arizona and Arizona schools have solidified the tremendous level of school participation.

Following the program’s success and educational notoriety, the event preliminaries were moved in 2004 to a larger facility, ASU West Campus, and in 2006 the preliminaries were expanded to encompass two days due to the large growth in participants.

In 2009, the competition, continuing to evolve, changed its challenge. The students are now required to develop plans for an International Lunar Base, which includes physical scale models as well as scientific explanations on how they can sustain a crew of up to 50 people for two years. Their projects detail how they will create ways of mining, storing and processing Helium 3.

In 2010, a record-breaking number of students joined the competition with 245 teams competing for the chance to win a VIP trip to the Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas.

In 2011, the event expanded again, this time adding a third day to the preliminary round to accommodate the growing number of participants after a record was set the previous year.

Previous Winners

Year School City
1999 Frontier Elementary Peoria
2000 Gonzales Elementary Tolleson
2001 Saints Simon & Jude Diocese of Phoenix
2002 Maricopa Elementary & Middle Schools Maricopa
2003 Westside Home Educators Peoria
2004 Saints Simon & Jude Diocese of Phoenix
2005 Ira Murphy Elementary Peoria
2006 Joy Christian School Glendale
2007 Kosmos Combined Homeschool Group Gilbert
2008 Tri City Christian Academy Tempe
2009 Challenge Charter School Glendale
2010 Coyote Hills Elementary Peoria
2011 Saints Simon & Jude Phoenix
2013 Basha Accelerated Middle School Chandler
2014 Kyrene Aprende Middle School Chandler
2015 Saint Simon and Jude Phoenix