Past Grand Marshals

2013 - Yarnell Hill Firefighters Families
Families of the 19 fallen Yarnell Hill Firefighters.

2012 - Missy Franklin
Olympic gold medal swimmer Missy Franklin.

2011 - Kirk Gibson
Arizona Diamondbacks manager Kirk Gibson.

Rickie Fowler (Honorary Grand Marshal)
PGA golfer Rickie Fowler.

2010 - Kurt Warner and family
Legendary Arizona Cardinals quarterback and humanitarian Kurt Warner.

Mona Dixon (Honorary Grand Marshal)
Boys & Girls Club Youth of the Year Award winner Mona Dixon.

2009 - John Cena
WWE Superstar John Cena.

Chelsea Staub (Honorary Grand Marshal)
Star of the Disney Channel’s “JONAS” Chelsea Staub.

2008 - Tony Stewart
NASCAR driver Tony Stewart.

David Henrie (Honorary Grand Marshal)
Star of the Disney Channel’s “Wizards of Waverly Place” David Henrie.

2007 - Mark Grace
First baseman for the 2001 World Champion Arizona Diamondbacks and Paradise Valley resident Mark Grace.

2006 - Natalie Gulbis
LPGA player and television star Natalie Gulbis.

2005 - Jerry Rice
NFL legend and former wide receiver Jerry Rice.

2004 - Jennie Finch
Olympic softball gold medalist pitcher and University of Arizona alumnus Jennie Finch.

2003 - Tom Lehman
PGA golfer and Scottsdale resident Tom Lehman.

2002 - Cal Ripken Jr.
Hall of Fame Major League Baseball player Cal Ripken,Jr.

2001 - Luis Gonzalez
Outfielder for the 2001 World Champion Arizona Diamondbacks, Luis Gonzalez.

2000 - Gary Hall Jr. and Misty Hyman
Olympic gold medalists in swimming and Arizona residents Gary Hall Jr. and Misty Hyman.

1999 - Danny White
The Arizona Republic’s Athlete of the Century, and Phoenix resident, Danny White.

1998 - Tony Dorsett and Ricky Williams
Ricky Williams spent the 1998 season chasing, and finally breaking, Tony Dorsett’s career college rushing record.  Heisman trophy winners.

1997 - Ryne Sandberg
Baseball great and future hall-of-famer Ryne Sandberg. 

1996 - Kerri Strug
Olympic gold medalist and Tucson native Kerri Strug.

1995 - Eddie Robinson
Eddie Robinson, college football's winningest coach.

1994 - Charles Barkley
Charles Barkley of the NBA's Phoenix Suns.

1993 - George Brett
George Brett, a 13-time all-star with the Kansas City Royals.

1992 - Kristi Yamaguchi
Olympic figure-skating champion Kristi Yamaguchi.

1991 - Erma Bombeck
Humorist and Paradise Valley resident Erma.

1990 - Michael Carbajal
Michael Carbajal, acclaimed boxer and Phoenix native.

1989 - Oakland Athletics
Team members from the World Champion Oakland Athletics.

1988 - Janet Evans
Renowned swimmer Janet Evans won three gold medals in swimming competition in the summer Olympics at Seoul, South Korea.

1987 - Dennis Conner
Stars & Stripes skipper Dennis Conner, who recaptured the America's Cup in 1987.

1986 - Chuck Yeager
General Chuck Yeager, a decorated Air Force pilot and astronaut, he received the Congressional Medal of Honor from President Gerald Ford and the Presidential Medal of Freedom from  President Ronald Reagan.

1985 - Tommy Lasorda
Considered an icon in professional baseball, Tommy Lasorda with his dedication to the LA Dodgers.

1984 - Vic Tayback
Vic Tayback, who portrays Mel in "Alice."

1983 - Doc Severinsen
Recognized world-wide as the flamboyant conductor of the "Tonight Show" orchestra.

1982 - Conrad Bain
Conrad Bain, America's favorite dad as Philip Drummond on the NBC hit "Diff'rent Strokes."

1981 - Cast of Hill Street Blues
The gang from NBC's popular police drama  recognized for their contributions toward the show's award-winning inaugural season,  Rene Enriquez, Taurean Blacque, Betty Thomas, Ed Marinaro, Daniel J. Travanti, Barbara Bosson, Charles Haid, James Sikking, Michael Warren, Kiel Martin and Bruce Weitz.

1980 - Bil Keane
Popular comic strip artist Bil Keane as creator of the acclaimed "Family Circus" comic.

1979 - Claude Akins
Claude Akins, the star of "The Misadventures of Sheriff Lobo."

1978 - Herve Villechaize
Herve Villechaize, an actor and artist, recognized fondly by fans as "Tattoo" of "Fantasy Island."

1977 - Wes Bolin
Wes Bolin, arguably Arizona's most beloved politician, with his extensive tenure as secretary of state.

1976 - Frank Shorter
Frank Shorter, a world-renowned distance runner, with a  silver-medal performance in the marathon at the 1976 Summer Olympics.

1975 - Tom Harmon
Tom Harmon, known as "Ole 98" in his college football days at the University of Michigan, won the Heisman Trophy in 1940 and was named captain of the collegiate All-American team, two of football's most prestigious honors. Harmon's remarkable career also includes two years with the Los Angeles Rams.

1974 - Steve Allen
Steve Allen, the man who started it all at NBC's "The Tonight Show," accompanied by his wife, "Honeymooners" star Jayne Meadows reigned over the 1974 Fiesta Bowl Parade.