Junior College Shootout Final Shootout

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:                                            

Harrison Raboy                                                    

Against a strong field that included three ranked teams and the no.1 team in the nation — the Monroe Mustangs — Mesa Community college stunned the field and won the 2011 Fiesta Bowl Junior College Shootout on its home floor.

The Thunderbirds defeated Coach Gene Buss and his Three Rivers Raiders 84-72 on Friday, December 30 to capture the title in front of the home fans.

“It was a great win for our program and what we are trying to accomplish by remaining in D1. I don’t think many people looking at the field going in would have predicted a Mesa win, but we believed and that’s why you play,” said Mesa Head Coach Sam Ballard.

Mesa defeated the Williston State (ND) Tetons on Wednesday, 84-61 to move to the Championship bracket before defeating Lon Morris (TX) in the semifinals on Thursday.

Mesa guard Asaad Woods was named the 2011 Fiesta Bowl Junior College Shootout’s Most Outstanding Player, dominating against Lon Morris and leading his team in scoring in two of the three games, averaging 15.7 point per game throughout the tournament.  Mesa forward Christian Griggs-William, Raiders forwards Ibrahim Djambo and Taruius Johnson and Arizona Western guard Lestor Medford rounded out the All-Tournament team.