Ohio Named Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week


DALLAS (FWAA) – The Ohio Bobcats grabbed the nation's attention on the season's first Saturday with a second-half rally to beat Penn State on the road, 24-14, earning Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week honors for games of the weekend of Sept. 1. The annoucement came exclusively on SiriusXM Radio's "College Sports Today," hosted by Mark Packer and Eddie George.
Ohio trailed 14-3 at the half, but scored the final 21 points as Tyler Tettleton completed 31 passes to 10 different receivers for 324 yards and two touchdowns. Tettleton engineered an impressive drive in the fourth quarter, marching Ohio 88 yards in 13 plays for the clinching touchdown, a five-yard pass to Donte Foster with 2:55 left. Ohio outgained Penn State, 499-352.
"This is truly one of the most exciting moments in Ohio football history," Ohio University President Roderick McDavis told the Athens Messenger. "To come into this stadium, on this day, and win just speaks volumes about how far we’ve come."
Other Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week nominees for the weekend of Sept. 1 included:
• Alabama (1-0): The Crimson Tide rolled to a 31-0 lead in the first half and cruised to a 41-14 win over No. 8 Michigan in the Cowboys Classic in Arlington, Texas. AJ McCarron passed for 199 yards and two touchdowns, freshman T.J. Yeldon ran for 111 yards and another score, and C.J. Mosley returned an interception for another score, all in the first half for No. 2 Alabama in its first game as the defending national champion.
• Texas State (1-0): In their first game as a member of the Football Bowl Subdivision, the Bobcats went on the road and stunned Houston, 30-13. Senior running back Marcus Curry led Texas State with a career-high 131 yards rushing and had three touchdowns overall. It was Texas State’s first win over an FBS team since 2000.
The Football Writers Association of America has named a national team of the week since the 2002 season. This is the eighth season that the award has been sponsored by the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl.
Members of the FWAA All-America Committee decide the weekly honor. Each remaining Monday during the 2012 college football regular season, the FWAA will name the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week. The winner will be announced through Nov. 26 at 9:30 a.m. ET on the SiriusXM College Sports Nation channel.
About the Fiesta Bowl
Founded in 1971, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl has hosted seven games that have decided the college football national championship, including four Bowl Championship Series title games. This season, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl will be played on Jan. 3, 2013, at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz., and the Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl will be played on Dec. 29, 2012, at Sun Devil Stadium in Tempe, Ariz.
About the Football Writers Association of America
The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,300 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tigerfwaa@aol.com or 972-713-6198.
For more information on the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week, go to footballwriters.com or fiestabowl.org.